Date: October - December 2015

Headline: Honoring Asia's Best Science Writers

ASIAN SCIENTIST WRITING PRIZE 2015

HONORING ASIA'S BEST **SCIENCE WRITERS**







The 24 winners of the inaugural Asian Scientist Writing Prize were announced at an award ceremony held at Science Centre Singapore on July 27, 2015.

Sponsored by World Scientific Publishing Company and co-organized by Science Centre Singapore and Asian Scientist Magazine, the Asian Scientist Writing Prize seeks to recognize outstanding science writers in the region.

all across Asia. including China, India. the Philippines, Japan, Indonesia and Thailand.

The winning entries were selected by a panel of five judges: Assistant Professor Juliana Chan, editor-in-chief of Asian Scientist Magazine; Associate Professor Lim Tit Meng. CEO of







Science Centre Singapore: Dr. Benjamin Scct. executive director of the Biomedical Research Council, Agency for Science. Technology and Research (A*STAR): Professor Steven Miller, vice provost (research). Singapore Management University (SMU): and Mrs Doreen Phua. managing director (group) of World Scientific Publishing Company.

In addition to the award ceremony, a panel Over 300 entries were received from writers discussion on opportunities and challenges for science in Asia was held. Moderated by Chan, the panel included Lim, Seet, Miller and Associate Professor Shirley Ho from the Wee Kim Wee School of Communication and Information, Nanyang Technological University (NTU).

- Scientific Publishing Company. In addition to the cash prizes. the top three winners received capless fountain pens from sponsor Pilot Pen Singapore. Mr. Chua Hong Koon (right). representing lead sponsor World Scientific Publishing Company, receiving a token of
 - appreciation from Dr. Rebecca Tan. managing editor of Asian Scientist Magazine. 3. It was full house attendance at Science Centre Singapore

Second prize winner

Dr. Jonathan Leong receiving

Mr. Heng Swee Keat. All cash prizes were sponsored by World

his S\$5,000 cash prize from the

Singapore Minister for Education

VOL.2 ISSUE 4

- Maxwell Auditorium. First prize winner Dr. Law Yao Hua sharing about what motivated him to write his winning entry.
- Youth award winner. Ms. Kate Tan. having a word with the guest of honor. Minister Heng Swee Keat.
- A panel session on the opportunities and challenges for science in Asia. From left to right: Professor Lim Tit Meng. CEO. Science Centre Singapore Dr. Benjamin Seet, executive director, Biomedical Research Council. A*STAR: Professor Steven Miller, vice provost (research) and dean of the School of Information Systems-SMU: Associate Professor Shirley Ho, Wee Kim Wee School of Communication and Information, NTU: and Nanyans Assistant Professor Iuliana Chan, editor-in-chief of Asian Scientist Magazine.
- 7. A group photo with the winners and panelists.

nto credit: Cyril No/Asian Scie



Flip the page to read our top three winning

